We made it back to the Eiffel Tower to beat the long lineups. We probably were only in line for 30-45 minutes before we got up to the tickets. After having all of our bags checked (and x-rayed), we got to go up in the elevator.

I knew that I would not be able to go to the top, as I also have fear of heights :-(. I told my husband and granddaughter that they could go up to the top and I would wait for them on the second floor, but they very kindly said they would stay with me. Perhaps they, too, are a wee bit afraid of heights and just can't admit it :-).

All I can say is that the view is breathtaking. I have to admit that even on the second floor, I could not force myself to go to the edge. I was able to do it when we went down a few steps to a 'closed in' observation deck though, but it still left my legs a bit shaky and my stomach a bit upset.

The Eiffel Tower is definitely one of those 'must see' sights in the world! It is truly magnificent!




Leave a Reply.