From Naples we flew to Frankfurt, Germany. We had an hour and a half layover, and even though we had been served lunch on the plane, we knew we couldn't leave Germany (even if it was just an airport in Germany) without having some of their food. We thought it would be neat to have eaten a frankfurter in Frankfurt! :-) In the end we went with a bratwurst sausage, and it was excellent! I have a feeling that I might have gained some weight if we had stayed any longer in Germany. Even though it was just the airport, the food smells and food sights left your mouth watering!

Then we boarded the plane for our 8.5 hour trip to Toronto. The 8.5 changed to about 9.5 hours, as we could not take off from Frankfurt due to weather. All we could see was that it was raining.

Finally, we were in the air and on our way to Toronto. Unfortunately the delay took too long, and by the time we got our luggage and cleared customs in Toronto, it was too late to board the flight to Regina. Air Canada had rebooked us for 8:35 the next morning. Off we went to a hotel for another night.

We left Naples at 1:35 in the afternoon, and by the time we got to Toronto, it was about 14 hours later. I don't really sleep in planes and hadn't slept much my last night in Italy, so when I finally fell into bed in the hotel about 11:30 p.m. Toronto time, I fell asleep very quickly. I knew we had to be up about 6:00 a.m. this morning, so I figured I would be able to get a 'decent' night's sleep. I guess my body thought otherwise though, and it must still be on Naples' time, as I have been awake since 1:30. That would be 7:30 in the morning in Italy. I guess I won't have to worry about being late for our flight to Regina this morning. All I do know is that it is going to be great to be home (hopefully at about 10:00 am Regina time), and I will be ready for a nap shortly after! :-)

The mad dash to try and get our luggage, get through customs and board the flight to Regina. Unfortunately it didn't work!

Kyla
8/10/2013 12:43:34 pm

I enjoyed reading about your experience in Europe! I have to say it probably took me over a hour to read it all!

Reply
Jann Porritt
8/10/2013 09:28:34 pm

You should have read it in parts, you silly girl! :-) I hope you are having a great summer. It is going by quickly.

Reply
Tracey
9/2/2013 11:09:32 am

It looks and sounds like a memorable and beautiful trip! Thanks for sharing your experiences and wonderful photos.

I wish you a fantastic first day of classes tomorrow.

Tracey

Reply
Hannah
9/2/2013 12:56:01 pm

Hey Mrs. P! You are so lucky to have gone to Europe! Why didn't you take me? Looks like you had a lot of fun! Thanks for sharing you trip!

Reply



Leave a Reply.