I am not sure exactly what I was thinking when I thought the Mount Vesuvius Tour would be a good one to go on, but I did agree. I guess I really wasn't thinking about how we would get up there or how high it really was. After that 'light lunch' I told you about in my previous post, we got back on the bus and started the trek up the mountain. It wasn't the great bus we had yesterday - much smaller and even though it claimed air conditioning, I am not so sure. 

When I realized how 'windy' the road was, I very quickly closed my eyes. It was BAD! Eyes closed, gum being chewed rapidly, and trying desperately to place my mind anywhere but on that road was all that kept me from embarrassing myself and tossing my cookies - or in this case, pasta and ice cream! We finally made it as far as the bus goes, and thankfully there was some shade and some breeze to help settle my tummy down. Even the 'lecture' and dirty look my husband gave us when he came out from buying the tickets and couldn't find us didn't faze me at that point. Listening to him was better than having stood out in the sun waiting  for him to get the tickets and probably tossing my cookies.

Then it was off and running. Now that is an exaggeration, as there was definitely no running up that mountain. None of the pictures really show how far up we had to walk, but we did get a postcard that shows the path. There were places to stop along the way, and we made several 'stop AND breathe' places of our own. I hugged the mountain as the railing side was breathtaking, but it looked down over the city and/or water (neither of which I could handle). Then we finally made it to the top and were able to look down into the crater! Well, I might not have seen the very bottom of the crater, as you had to go right over to the railing to see it. But I 'almost' saw the bottom. 

The climb back down was much easier and faster, but I wanted it to go slower, as I knew I had to take that bus ride back down that mountain. I came down the same way - eyes closed, gum chewing and mind elsewhere. There was a point where I thought I might have to ask Journey for her 'souvenir' bag, but I made it! I am now laying on the bed in the hotel room recuperating while we wait for 7:30 and the restaurants to open for the evening meal. I sure hope it is another one of those 'light' meals - NOT!!!

Now that it is all over, am I glad I went? You bet! It was truly amazing, and now we can say that we climbed to the top of the only active volcano on the European continent. Would I go again or even go the first time if I knew all this? Never!




Leave a Reply.